Our Gundagai Motel is situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River , the town of Gundagai has long been a favourite stopping place for travellers along the Hume Highway
Within the township of Gundagai, there are various interesting activities:
- Two-Foot Tour: a guided walk around the historical buildings
- Gabriel Gallery
- Gundagai Museum
- Rusconi Marble Masterpiece at the Gundagai Visitors Centre
One-day tours from Gundagai provide opportunity to visit orchards and vineyards, taking a firsthand look at gold mining heritage, huge timber plantations, historical huts, lakes and rivers and the Snowy Mountains Scheme, enjoy picturesque parks and gardens, Kosciuszko National Park, Mt Selwyn ski resort, Yarrangobilly Caves, waterfalls, trout farms, the Hume and Hovell walking track and more.
Gundagai is also the ideal centre from which to discover the beauty and recreational activities of the Riverina Highlands, taking in such towns as Tumut, Adelong, Batlow, Talbingo, Tumbarumba, Khancoban, Wagga Wagga, Cootamundara, Temora and Cabramurra.
Gundagai is rich in its association with colonial days. Woven into its historical tapestry are legends of the prospectors, and of bushrangers Ben Hall and Captain Moonlite, drawn by the lure of the miners’ hard-won gold. Reminders of the gold fever which gripped the town in 1861 and again in 1894 may be seen in nearby abandoned goldmines and buildings.
Price Alfred Bridge
The longest wooden bridge structure ever built in Australia spans the mighty Murrumbidgee River at Gundagai.
The bridge formed part of the Hume Highway until replaced by the new Sheaham Bridge 110 years later. The bridge, together with the adjucent historic railway bridge, built in 1901 and opened in 1903, has been classified by the National Trust as a structure whose preservation is essential to Australias heritage. The railway line closed in 1986. The two bridges provide a special fascination for visitors to Gundagai.